Goldfrapp – Artists Extraordinaire

I’ve always really liked Goldfrapp’s music since I stumbled upon it a few years ago.   Lately I’ve been playing it more and have come to have a kind of artsy, musicy crush on Alison Goldfrapp the lead singer and I would think soul of the band.  I also think she and her band are artists in many respects, not just in terms of their music.  Watch their videos, and the way they present Alison, and the rich visual imagery in their videos.  Alison is clearly very very aware of the power of imagery and the visual arts and how this intertwines with her music.  Lately I’ve been playing her ethereal, newest album “The Seventh Tree” quite a bit while I work on my latest photography and art projects.  I finally broke down and bought it on Itunes.  I need to have music on while I work!  It helps to connect some neurons up there in the left side of my little brain 😉

I found a good article about the band and some interesting video links for you to watch.   You can admire not just Goldfrapp’s music but their sense of the visual.  Enjoy!

And leave some comments and let us know what you thnk.  What do you lsten to when you work?  When you want to be inspired?  When you eat macaroni and cheese?

Article in the Daily Telegraph:  “Alison Goldfrapp – Ethereal Girl”

Video From New Album, “Seventh Tree”

Video Interview from CBS

5 Responses to “Goldfrapp – Artists Extraordinaire”

  1. I dont know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    …..Frank Scurley

  2. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

